• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

All Grain 10 Gallon Batch - Need help with BS2 setup

e3j7p

New Forum Member
Reaction score
First let me say, I'm new to AG brewing and BS in general. I am trying to set up my BS2 for future batches which will all be 10 gallons.

Im having trouble getting BS to adjust my grainbill to compensate for my lauter tun deadspace and trub losses. (lauter tun deadspace: .75 gallons with a 70 qt plastic cooler)(trub 1.75 gallons - using a 15.5 gallon ss keg as boil pot and this is the volume left in the keg, after all liquid runs out of the ball valve)

I have set up my equipment profiles and mash profiles (single infusison, batch sparge)

I though I had it all figured out, but I just brewed last night and missed my OG by a lot (Target 1.073 and actual 1.062)

I know the big problem is water volume vs grain bill (because of the amount of "extra" water that was left in the boil pot, when I filled both my 5 gallon fermenting buckets) but each time I enter a new recipe with my existing equipment, I dont have a good way to adjust the gain to reach the target SG.

I tried entering a new equipment profile with the deadspace and trub loss, set to 0 and then entering the recipe initially with this profile, then scaling the batch (using same 10 gallon batch volume) to use equipment profile with actual deadspace/trub loss. but the change is not drastic.

Is there a better way to figure out the extra grain needed to achieve the needed target OG when using my system with known deadspace/trub loss.

I am trying to avoid increasing the entire batch size because the water measurements will also change and I fear, cause more problems.

Here are my settings if needed:

Equipment:
Brewhouse Efficency: 72%
Hop utalization: 100%
Mash Tun Volume: 17.5 Gallons