• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

OG Calculation

Stevedkiwi

Apprentice
Reaction score
OK Here goes !!
I am new to brewing and have just done three kit brews so far.
but I have really caught the bug as I find the whole business fascinating.

Anyway I plan to continue with kits but get into proper extract and eventually probably partial mashes before too long.

So I figure a software tool is a good idea and like the look of Beer Smith.

However ...

I am the kind of guy that needs to know how stuff works and I cannot really get my head around a few key parts of brewing calcs. Hopefully someone can help me without baffling me with jargon.
I will frame my questions based on using Beer Smith., and will post each question (Or series of sub questions of questions) seperately.
Please bear in mind that we are metric down here at the bottom of the world (Or top depending on your outlook)

1. Adding beer kits to the grains table.

a) IBU / EBC

Our main local producers package in 1.7kg cans and quote IBU's and EBC's as packaged eg the Coopers APA is quoted as being 340 IBU and 90 EBC.
Coopers state that to get the actual IBU of the brew (Assuming no further hop additions) you multiply by the weight and divide by the batch size so
340 * 1.7kg / 23L = 25.1 IBU which is just at the bottom of the range for APA. (Our standard batch size here in NZ is 23 L)

I presume that to enter this kit in BS I would enter 40.4 IBU being the US imperial equivelent of 340 g/l and BS takes care of the rest
This results in an IBU of 23 in BS which is fairly close I suppose to the Coopers calc.

For EBC I am really confused though as i am not at all sure how the calcs work. Entering 90 as the EBC gives me a predicted EBU of over 28 is way too high.