• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

No were near the expected gravity

KWMTrumpet

Apprentice
Reaction score
Lately my all grain brewing OG numbers have been hitting a little low and recently I was off by a substantial amount on my last brew.  Now there are a couple of factors for this:

1. Back in February I started using an outside burner to do the boil(Camp Chef) and a 7 half gallon stainless steel pot.

2. I have been weighing and milling my own grain for almost two years now (Monster Miller MM3-2.0 with Harden Steal)

3. Now using BeerSmith2, use to use BeerToolsPro. After reading and watching the setup videos on the BeerSmith, I felt I was ready to use it. Added all my equipment as mentioned in the tutorials.

4. I started using a carbon filter to filter my water for the past year now.

Here is my numbers and grain for a Russian Imperial Stout (5.5 gallon batch) I brewed yesterday:

Est Pre-boil Vol. 6.82
My Pre-boli: 6.8
Pre-boil Gravity: 1.100
My Pre-boil gravity: 1.070 (and I cooled it down into the mid 70's to check reading)
Est Original Gravity 1.1210
My OG: 1.076
pH Mash right at 5.2
pH Sparge 6.0

10  lbs Maris Otter
4    lbs Pale Chocolate Malt
2.5 lbs Crystal 120
2    lbs Crystal 60
2    lbs Crystal 40
.5  lbs Roasted Barley
2    lbs Oats, Flaked

Set the program for: (Based off the options provided by BeerSmith2)

Single Infusion, Full Body, Batch Sparge
Set steep temperature at 156 degree F for 45 minutes. (I usually do 60 minutes, but trusted the program this time)
Batch Sparge at 168 degree F
Pre-Boil volume was 6.8 gallons

All I can think of for my issue is:

1. Do not have the right boil down calculations. Either too much or too little is being evaporated during the boil. If so, how would I figure out the correct boil off rate?