• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

More newbie questions

Humble Brewer

Master Brewer
Reaction score
Hello all,

By way of introduction I am new to all-grain brewing but have been extract brewing since 99.  I built the typical "Do it yourself" all-grain kit using converted coolers and such and made my first batch last weekend.  I have a couple of take-aways I wanted to circulate to the crowd and get some feedback on.

Trub - There was WAY more trub in this batch than I have ever seen with extract brewing.  Is this normal?  I began to wonder if I made a mistake somewhere.  It settled nicely within 30 mins of racking to primary but there was so much I waited to pitch and reracked.

Step Mashing - How do you step mash in a cooler when you can't direct heat?  I wound up treating them almost as a decoction but it made hitting temperatures a nightmare.  Any tips for step mashing in a cooler would be welcome.

Transfers - In my various transfers in and out of the coolers I was constantly losing wort to the MLT dead space.  As I was cleaning the gear after the brew the idea came to me of purchasing a large turkey baster.  It could easily suction the remaining amounts of liquor/wort from the bottom of the cooler and move it to the next stage for me.  Seems way easier than picking up the cooler and tipping it out each time.  Anyone here use a turkey baster?  Is the idea crazy?

Thanks in advance for the help.

It's normal to have more trub with all-grain compared to extract brewing.  It's been a long time since I heard the reason why, but I seem to remember something about the processing (vacuum processing) of the extract.