• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Please help me get my new hobby started!

cwiley90

New Forum Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

I am a recent college graduate and am looking for a hobby to fill some of my spare time.  I have always enjoyed trying new beers, especially good microbrews, and with a degree in biochemistry I think I would love the art and chemistry involved in brewing a beer that I can share and enjoy myself.  After doing a little research, I at least know that the home brew "kits" don't seem to be the way to go.  I want to buy my tools/supplies separately.  Can anyone give me some advice or maybe a sample shopping list of what I will need to purchase to get my new hobby off the ground?  Also, where is the best place to get fresh ingredients?  I would like to make a an IPA first since that is my favorite.  The hoppier the better!  Also, has anyone had success with growing their own ingredients at home?  I am interested in doing this as well as maybe even culturing my own yeast.  As I said earlier, I have a pretty strong background in biochemistry and lab techniques so if I could "hunt" and grow up a unique yeast culture that would be really cool.  Thanks!

-Chris

Buy "how to brew"  by John palmer. Best money you will spend.