• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Where to get inexpensive LME?

gwapogorilla

Master Brewer
Reaction score
I've been combing the net for inexpensive LME, so far the best I can do is Midwest Brewing. They sell a case of six-6 lb. jugs for $80 plus $20 shipping...but I can enter a coupon code for $5 off, bringing the total to $95..or $2.64 a lb.
Anyone see better deals out there? I'm just getting started, and the wife is already starting to tally up my totals. So, I'm trying to get some bang for my buck.

Thanks,
Mark

That is pretty good for a price. Briess is %80 fermentables too, so not too bad and it's probably fresh. I would check the local homebrew shop and maybe avoid shipping. Look for bulk buys in your area perhaps with a local homebrew club or even piggyback an order with a local brewery.

Wholesale for group buys for Briess is about $15/gallon.
http://www.countrymaltgroup.com/downloads/Champlain%202013%20Price%20Sheets%20-%20Updated%2012-31-12.pdf

so about half as much. You live in the states?

Go all grain.  Can't get cheaper than that!  Yes, there is an initial equipment investment, but brewing beers that are $0.35 per bottle and can rival the $2 craft brews in your area is well worth it!

+1 to Beer_Tigger - Just went AG recently and saving over $3/Lb on my fermentables ain't too shabby - pays for the investment in equipment pretty quickly if you brew enough...

A 5 gallon jug is a bit much, it would go bad before I had it all used up.
The local brew supply shop only sells in 3.3 lb tins...about $11 each. I'm near Dubuque Iowa...so not much around here.
I will eventually end up going all grain..after a year or two. But til then, I'll keep searching for the best buy.