• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Bad Efficiency

mbg

Master Brewer
Reaction score
I've been brewing all grain for quite a few years now (5-gal. Batches). I usually buy grain and mill it myself. I used a 48 Qt. Ice Cube cooler and consistently got mid to low 70's for eff.. I recently bought a few unmilled all grain kits when they were on sale at NB. I also built a new mash tun from a 70 Qt Xtreme rectangular cooler. I hit the mash volumes and temperatures but only had 57% eff. or close to 10 points off on pre-boil gravity.

Should I have gotten lower eff. from the new tun? Only other thing that I can think of is the grain bill could have been short?

I hope to brew again this weekend and already weighed the grain so I'll get another shot to check my eff..

Thanks,

Mike

Seems most likely that grain weight is at the root of your problem. Or the grain could have been poor quality.

I have a house beer I make at least every month. Once, I had to use a different base Pilsner for it and my efficiency plummeted. It turns out, that the yield for that malt batch was only 54% (instead of the typical 80 to 82%). Efficiency is based on how much of that yield a brewer get. Malt batches are huge and last months in the distribution system.

Mash efficiency is made up of many interrelated variables. Mash pH is one that you can check and control. Although water is the very last thing for brewers to think about, knowing your RA (residual Alkalinity) will help you understand the styles your water will naturally want to make.

Mash tun design and how you sparge are going to be other factors. When you grain out, do you notice pockets of sweet malt? If your new tun is taller than wide, there could be ways for water to channel through the grain bed.