• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Batch Sparging with a Mash Out

Rep

Grandmaster Brewer
Reaction score
I am interested in batch sparging and performing a mash out as a final step.  Is there a way to set Beersmith up that will calculate the temperature of the mashout water and volumes?

What happens if you choose the mash profile "Single Infusion, Medium Body, Batch Sparge" ?

I don't batch, but isn't a fill-n-drain, then fill-n-drain again batch process essentially "mashing out" with 50% of what you plan to collect? 

You mash with XX water, then fill it up, hoping to hit 168F, and then drain.  And then totally refill from scratch, again trying to hit 168F? 

You could batch a really big mash out. 

grathan - I have been using that same mash profile for many years.  My efficiency was seldom in the 70's.  I had a friend over last week and he added a mashout as a last minute option to the brew day and it worked really well.

Thanks for the response.

MaltLicker said:
I don't batch, but isn't a fill-n-drain, then fill-n-drain again batch process essentially "mashing out" with 50% of what you plan to collect? 

You mash with XX water, then fill it up, hoping to hit 168F, and then drain.  And then totally refill from scratch, again trying to hit 168F? 

You could batch a really big mash out.

Yes, MaltLicker that is the way I have been batch sparging for years.  And that is how Beersmith is set up.  It works, but I am wondering if a hybrid might allow for greater efficiency.  As I mentioned to grathan,

Rep said:
grathan - I have been using that same mash profile for many years.  My efficiency was seldom in the 70's.  I had a friend over last week and he added a mashout as a last minute option to the brew day and it worked really well....