• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Different equipment and brewing results

nickel78

Apprentice
Reaction score
I am new to beersmith and have a question that i haven't been able to find the answer to or just don't see why it's happening.  Why is it that when i change my equipment profile, the outcomes of the beer change, such as gravity, bitterness, and alcohol?  If im using a 3 gallon pot or a 10 gallon pot, shouldnt that stay the same? 

Although the equipment is listed with kettle sizes, the math is based on batch yield to the fermenter. Each one is going to default to a different batch size and efficiency.

In real world brewing, surface area of grain, boiling and chilling change how the beer turns out. A 10 gallon pot will boil away a larger percentage of 3 gallons than 7.

well i guess i need to get my own profile setup.  I've been working on it but not sure about everything.  I think i have it about right but when i add my ingredients, i get an ibu of almost 100 and OG of 1.058. This is what im using for an ipa

0.5 oz                Simcoe [13.00 %] - Boil 60.0 min
1.00 oz              Chinook [13.00 %] - Boil 30.0 min
1.00 oz              Cascade [5.50 %] - Boil 30.0 min             
1.00 oz              Chinook [13.00 %] - Boil 15.0 min   
1.00 oz              Cascade [5.50 %] - Boil 0.0 min             
1 lbs                  Caramel/Crystal Malt - 20L     
1 lbs                  Carafoam (2.0 SRM)                           
7 lbs                  Light Dry Extract (8.0 SRM)                   
1 lbs                  Munich Malt - 20L (20.0 SRM)       

Also dry hop later.  Is that right, or should i change something in my profile or ingredients       

Now you're asking a different question. The answer depends on if you're boiling a full volume or partial.