• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

First time user of Beersmith

WM7793

Brewer
Reaction score
Hi to all forum members.

I am currently playing around with Beersmith2 with the trial version, before downloading the key. I am new to all grain brewing and just want to make sure that I am in the ball park for settings of the system. I have a 50L S/S vessel but at this stage want to experiment with smaller batches ie 11.5 L, to allow me to build up experience in the whole new world of brewing.

I  would like some advice whether I have set the equipment profile correctly for my system, I am using a 33L coolbox for a mashtun.

Can somebody explain why I have 11.5L showing in the "batchsize" and 18.93L in the "measured batch size". What is the difference here.

I have also taken a stab at some of the efficiencies for my first brew. First impressions from the software is that it is reasonably complex for a beginner like me, but I can see the value of really getting to understand the process and the software.

I am sure there will be many more silly questions from me!

Best regards,

WM7793

Measured Batch Size doesn't really exist, yet. That's an "actual" number you'll fill in on the Fermentation tab, when you brew.

Thanks Brewfun for your reply. I presume then that the "actual" is then entered to predict efficency for later brews?

Just a few more questions regarding "My Equipment" and "Mashing"

I have a 50L S/S vessel and a 33L coolbox mashtun.

As I am new to all grain, I wish to cut my teeth on smaller batches.

Q1. Is is best to set up brewsmith in the "my equipment" for smaller batches ie set the "batch volume" to 11.5L, or set this up for a standard 23L and alter the "recipe" for 11.5L?