• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

A couple of questions on equipment size options

msattler

New Forum Member
Reaction score
I have a couple of questions about setting up the profile for equipment that I can't figure out. I have made a lot of wine, and have decided to make some beer as well (due to a faster return lol). I have a 44 gal fermenter (it had a 1" in diameter hose leading to a bucket), a 100qt mash tun cooler, a 30 gal pot for boiling and 5 6 gal carboys. I have tried to set up the recipe to scale to keep everything the same, and unfortunately the beer in the picture always changes from dark to light. I am new to beer brewing, so unfortunately I do not know what to put in the profile for boil off and the other number settings. I also made a wort chiller out of 20ft of copper tubing that I attached a male and female connector to about 5ft of vinyl tubing on both ends. I do not know how much to calculate for the amount lost with that either. Any help would be greatly appreciated! :)

I've only been using beersmith for about 6 months, so I can't help with much.  I can however help you with boil off.  The easiest way to get the accurate amount of boil off, is to actually measure water into your boil kettle to the same amount of wort that you would boil.  Then boil it for 15minutes.  Start the timer as soon as it comes to a good rolling boil.  At the end of 15 minutes, measure how much water is left.  The difference in starting volume and ending volume is your boil off for 15 minutes.

Let's say that you boiled off 1/2 a gallon.  For a 60 minute boil, you would have lost 2 gallons (4 x .5 gallons).  For a 90 minute boil, you would have lost 3 gallons (6 x .5 gallons).

This is how I did it.