• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Est. OG question

drb1215

Grandmaster Brewer
Reaction score
Hi - I'm new to all grain brewing and have a quick question on the volume that is used for the Est Original Gravity figure displayed when creating a recipe...

Is the Est OG calculated on the volume into the fermenter, or on the post boil volume?  With my equipment profile there is 0.75 gallon more post boil (due to trub loss and how far I can siphon liquid out of my BK) vs. what goes into the fermenter.

If it is based on what goes into the fermenter, then I need to adjust my numbers to compensate for the extra .75 gallons of liquid in the BK post boil.

Thanks,
Dan

It doesn't matter.  The stuff you are leaving behind has the same concentration of sugars as what goes into your fermentor. 

Why would it not matter?  If I have 5.75 gallons of wort that let's say has a gravity of 1.040 and boil it down to 5.00 gallons...the gravity should be higher because the ratio of sugars to water has changed.  Is this not correct?

Your entire question pertained to "after the boil".  You basically asked what the difference as between the post boil gravity in the kettle and the post boil gravity in the fermentor.  Those two would be the same.

What you leave behind in your brew kettle is exactly the same gravity as what goes into your fermentor.  That trub loss is a post boil kettle loss.  Anything after the boil is the same gravity.