• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

When to dry hop and how much?

mthomebrew

Brewer
Reaction score
Hey all, I'm wanting to dry hop my pale ale and I'm now sure when to add them. I've read about adding them in both the primary and secondary fermentors, mine is currently is the secondary where I will leave it for a couple weeks. When would be the prime time to dry hop my 5 gallon batch and how much is too much? This is my first time using a secondary and dry hopping, any info is greatly appreciated.

What kind of vessel is your secondary:  Better Bottle, Carboy, bucket, or keg? 

Do you keg or bottle? 

I've done dry-hops twice in a carboy. I don't use bottle shaped vessels of any kind anymore.  I use kegs, and I generally dry-hop directly in the keg. 

The first time, I did them loose---just poured them through the opening and let them float in the wort.  Not recommended.  It was a nightmare.  They float on top of the wort and potentially increase O2 uptake.  They clog the siphon/racking cane when you try and transfer.

The second time, I put the hops in a hop sack with some sanitized glass marbles.  the marbles keep the hops submerged---better wort contact, and less change for excess O2 uptake.  This worked fine.  Its a bit of a challenge to get the sacks back out of the carboy, but it just takes a little wriggling and some patience.