• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

size needed for MLT?

stmicbarr

Apprentice
Reaction score
I'm new to all grain brewing and have done a couple batches using batch sparges, but I'm wanting to start doing fly sparges using a cooler for my HLT.  If I'm doing 5 gallon batches, would I ever need an HLT that holds more than 5 gallons?

most likely my current 5 gallon batch is needing 6.96 gallons for the sparge.  do not forget that you also have to the water for the boil off in there.

In order to be able to make a Barleywine, in round figures, the MLT should be 2x batch size, minimum.  3x would be ideal. 

You can "get away" with an MLT as small as 1x batch size as long as you keep your OG below 1.060 or so.

Why do you want to "fly sparge"?  I've known a lot of brewers who fly sparge, and say that "if they were starting over today, they would batch sparge."  The only reason they continue fly sparging is because they would have to reformulate all their recipes. 

If its for the "coolness" factor, or because that's how the "big boys" do it.  then more power to ya, have fun.  But, if its because you've been told that fly sparging is superior to batch sparging in some material way...it is not.  Fly sparging tends to be a little more finicky, and suceptible to variation from session to session.  Whereas, batch sparging is more reliably consistent. 

Thanks guys.  With all the reading I've done on the topic, most people say that fly sparging is more efficient at extracting the sugars, so I thought I'd give it a try.  And basically I'm trying to choose between a 5 gallon cooler and a 10 gallon cooler for the HLT.  I won't be putting the strike water in it, so I wondered about getting away with a 5 gallon one.  I'll go with the 10 gallon.