• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Low Carb Beer

BeerSmith

Staff member
Administrator
Grandmaster Brewer
Reaction score
Hi all,
 Someone wrote me today asking if I had any recipes for low-carb beer that still has some flavor in it.  Apparently it is part of a low-carb diet program.

I'm no expert on this but I assume that it would have to be a low gravity beer since alcohol has a pretty high calorie density.  Also something high in non-fermentables is probably bad as well because of the high carb content.

Anyone out there with a suggestion or recipe?

Cheeers!
Brad

Anyone out there with a suggestion or recipe?
Yeah: buy it. Not to be a smart-ass, but I personally think it's a waste of time to brew such a beer. I don't mean this to come off as snobbery in any way. I'm just saying that the effort and nearly guaranteed frustration of attempting to brew such a beer negates the value of the end result. It's possible to do it, I'm sure, but this is one instance where I'd have to say that the purchased product would be superior to what one could make.

My suggestion: brew a low-gravity, full-flavored beer, and then exercise portion control. That way, you get the best of both worlds  :D

colin <-- Really, I'm not trying to be a jerk...

I totally agree with Colin. Instead of trying to brew up a low-carb beer, download and read this book:
The Drink Beer, Get Thin Diet:  A Low Carbohydrate Approach

A preview:
About the Book:
If the “six-pack abs” of your youth look more like a half-barrel of beer hanging over your belly, The Drink Beer, Get Thin Diet is for you. If you’re a chronic dieter who wants results but won’t give up the occasional libation, here’s the diet you’ve been looking for!