• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

RastaBrewer sez "Don't Worry Mon... Have One of Mine!"

R

RastaBrewer

Hello to all from RastaBrewer....

Been wanting to get into the fermentation game for a number of years now, and finally took the plunge last year.
I didn't want to start out with the kit-n-kilo routine since I always go overboard when starting any new hobby, so I studied for several months reading everything I could get my hands on and finally last summer decided to make my first brew... all grain.

It was my attempt to brew the recipe I found on the BYO recipe board called Hempen Ale!!! Hence the name RastaBrewer! The seeds were found at a local health food store..... REALLY!  ... Boy does the aroma of that bag take  you back...  ::)

Anyway, the beer came out great and I liked it so much I stayed with the new hobby and decided to expand my efforts into other recipes. I found the diversity of beers you can make at home so broad that it has now become a common practice around to brew at least once or twice a month. I also started brewing (making) wine and have perfected a pretty good sparkling strawberry. This hobby is great!!! ... and about that Hempen Ale??? I kept a bottle in the back of the lagering frig until Oct. 10th of this year and it was still pretty good way after it's first birthday!...Seems the hemp seeds gave it some pretty good legs ... and a pretty good 'head' too.... :-X  looks like I'll have to brew that one again soon.

You may have guessed I'm into adding herbs to my brews.  ;D  I've added fresh grown mint from the garden to a recipe from Artic Brewings "Artic Red Ale" and it was GREAT... the beer had that spearmint rush in the aftertaste just like a winter breath of cold air. You couldn't beat it on a hot July afternoon.