• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

sparging

killian

Brewer
Reaction score
when sparging do you collect run off and return it to the hot liquer tank or do you let it run until original gravity is reached dumping the run off?
Im new to all grain please help

Check out John Palmer's book - How To Brew - which he very generously posted in its entirety online:

http://www.howtobrew.com/section3/index.html

- GL63

I'm realativly new to AG (8 batches) but here's my process...

After mashing is complete I do a mash-out (which I'm told is not necessary but I still do) which means I raise the temp of the mash to 168 and let it rest for 10 minutes.  Then I recirculate the mash draining it very slowly and returning the drained wort to the top of the mash.  This recirculation is call the vorlauf.  You need to vorlauf until your wort runs clear and there are no signs of any solid matter in your wort.  Now it's time to sparge!  Sparging is draining your wort into your boil pot (again) very slowly until you have collected the amount of wort you plan to boil - typically 6.5 to 7 gallons for a 5+ gallon batch (or you have reached a SG of 1.008) which ever comes first.  At the same time you are draining you replenish the wort on top, never letting your grain bed be exposed) with 168 degree (not over 170) water.  The replentishment of water on top of the grain bed is sparging (or sprinkling).  This is the challanging part...you want to keep between 1 and 2 inches of water on top of the grain bed at all times, so you have to match the draining flow with the sparging (incoming) flow.  I've read that sparging should take between 45 and 60 minutes but I drag mine out to a little over and hour.