• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Carbonation Issues

jen_4585

Apprentice
Reaction score
My boyfriend and I have been homebrewing for about 4 months now, using kits.  After much research (and overthinking on my boyfriend's part), he decided that we should cold crash our beers while in the secondary, using unflavored gelatin.  Our process is beer is in primary for 1-2 weeks (depending on brew), then we cold crash at the end of the secondary period.  We bring beer to approx. 32 degrees, add gelatin, then continue at 32 degrees for 3 days.  We bring beer back up to desired temp before bottling.  We have had great results on the clarity of the beers.  However, we have noticed some of our brews appear to be flat (even after proper bottle conditioning).  We have checked the lids and they all seem to be tight.  Is it possible that the cold crashing could be causing issues with carbonation.  Or any other guesses as to why we don't seem to have optimum carbonation.  Thanks!

One simple answer could be that you are serving the beer too cold. Pour a glass at room temp and see if it has more head. Many new brewers think that beer should be ice cold. Light Lagers and Pils are intended to be very cold but most "good beer" is best at temps between 45 and 55 depending on the style.

Dirty glassware could cause this too. Clean and "beer clean" are two different things.

The other issue could be that you are not using enough priming sugar. Bump it up a bit next time but, don't over do it.

If you are planning to stick with the hobby you should get into kegging. That will make things much more simple.