• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Mash Profile???? For a Pilsner

Millsnz

Apprentice
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm really new to brewing and to beersmith. I'm setting up a recipe for a Bohemian Pilsner. What's the best mash profile for this type of beer

I agree with KernelCrush.  Try using a clean ale yeast or a klosch yeast.  I would concentrate on getting all your techniques rock solid first.  Do you have the ability to ferment at 50* and lager around 40*?  The slightest error will show in this beer.  I take that you are doing all grain?  What grains are you using, yeast, hops, water etc?  most modern malts are fine with a single infusion mash. Decoction Mashing is traditional.

Yes a bit of history there.  They have some cool videos on their website too, the last time I was there.

Cheers guys for your responses. I definitely have jumped into the deep end on this one. I am new to this but luckily I have a very keen brewing friend who's going help me along the way. I'm pretty sure is not going to work out right but I'm a all or nothing kind of guy. Kernelcrush I't winter in NZ so i'm pretty sure i'm going to be able to get 50 and 40, but I will look into this, any idea on how to maintain this constant temp?

I'm doing a 23L batch, This is what I currently have for the brew. (Sorry it in Metric)

4.20 kg Pilsner (2 Row) Bel (3.9 EBC) - Grain (additional 0.9kg)
937.0 g Munich Malt - 20L (39.4 EBC) - Grain
312.3 g Cara-Pils/Dextrine (3.9 EBC) - Grain
100.2 g czech saaz [3.1%] - Boil 60 min - Hops
0.25 tsp Irish Moss (Boil 10 min) Misc
1 pkgs Saflager Lager (DCL/Fermentis #W-34/70) - Yeast

If you think this is all wrong let me know, and if you have any ideas on what I could make instead of it.

attached is my .bsmz file if that helps

Attachments