• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Winesmith?

M

makystir

It couldn't be too hard to translate much what you've already got over to winemaking right?  There is absolutely NO good home-winemaking software out there, trust me I've scoured the internet looking for some.

I'm a beer homebrewer at heart but wanted to dabble in winemaking as well.  I think you've got a huge opportunity to corner the market on easy to use winemaking software, especially since your competition almost doesn't exist at all.

Just a thought,

Kevin

Kevin,
  I would love to do it but my wine knowledge is minimal at best.  I've been brewing beer for 22 years, but never made a batch of wine.

What additions would be needed to adapt BeerSmith for wine use?

Thanks,
Brad

Being a winemaking newbie I'm sure there's a lot about it that I don't know either, but here are a few items that would be necessary:

Sulfite Calculator
Info on fermentable sugar % for different grapes and fruits, as well as flavor characteristics, color profiles etc.
Much added info on different wine yeasts
Differences between extract/puree/whole fruit ingredients
The process of winemaking is very similar, but there are differences.  For example, usually you rack the wine out of the secondary to a tertiary fermenter to get it off the fruit sediment.
There are many additives for wine that we beer folks aren't usually too familiar with (pectic enzyme, sulfites, tannins etc)