• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Beer Gun Problems

TAHammerton

Grandmaster Brewer
Reaction score
So despite the fact I started brewing 20 years ago I only started kegging 6 months ago. I wanted to still put a few beers in bottles so I got a Beer Gun. The first 2 attempts went smoothly. But the last 2 have been complete disasters. I have got nothing but foam. In fact the previous attempt I managed to bottle exactly zero bottles and gave up. I put it down to it being a heavily hopped IPA and the pick-up getting clogged. I cleared it out and put the keg back in the fridge and just finished it with the picnic tap. This last attempt tonight on a Pale Ale I at least got 6 bombers full although they all needed topping up from a 7th as they were foamy. After that the line was completely white and nothing would come out. I checked the pick-up but it had only a small amount of hops in it and was not blocked. Even after cleaning it I got nothing but foam. The keg is back in the fridge.

Both beers were aimed at 2.5 vols and seemed pretty close. The keg was at 13psi and around 37F. I am looking at the carbonation chart now and it seems to indicate 2.7 vols for that which is slightly higher than I wanted but not particularly high.

I realise it is probably something I am doing, but I am frustrated to the point I want to throw the bloody thing away! I have no problem filling growlers from the picnic tap using a foot long piece of PVC tube - not much foam at all.

So beyond telling me what an idiot I am, can anyone offer any advice?

This sounds like the line length isn't balanced to the beer's carbonation. As I recall, the leads are pretty short, and its instructions call for 5 psi of dispense pressure. Obviously, you don't leave the keg pressure there after filling bottles.