• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Working with recipes assuming "average system extract efficiency of 80 percent"

3lij4h

Apprentice
Reaction score
Hey all,

I am new to BeerSmith (just got the trial to learn it), I also found a great book with many recipes.

I am trying to build the recipes with BeerSmith so I may modify it but the recipes aren't working out for me like they should.
The book states:
All hop and malt quantities for making a brew with the listed specifications are calculated for brew systems with a nominal, average system extract efficiency of 80 percent [...] Extract efficiency is essentially the amount of wort you get from a given amount of dry grist.

All recipes are All Grain

When I put the recipe in BeerSmith I end up with OG * "Tot efficiency" of the recipe - in other words, if I set up my tot efficiency to 80%, and the recipe claims I should end up with 1.060 OG, BeerSmith will show 1.048 OG. Raising Tot efficiency to 100% will yield an accurate result.

Assuming that my system has an 80% tot efficiency, shouldn't the quantities of grains get me the desired OG?
Is there a setting I am missing?
Pleas advice!

For me this is one of the main benefits of the software.  Many recipes, including those in books, yield results different than what they publish.  In this case I'd keep the efficiency where my equipment falls in reality and bump up grains until the recipe's OG is hit.

First thing to check is what your equipment profile has for trub losses before the fermentor.  Set this to zero if not there already.  I don't know what book you are taking the recipes from, so I cannot comment on how the author's designed for 80% efficiency.  Double check the volume of the recipes as listed in the book.