• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Recipe help.

arctic78

Grandmaster Brewer
Reaction score
I was just was looking for some advice or comments on this American IPA recipe that I have put together. This is my first attempt at designing a recipe so any advise would be appreciated.
I am dry hopping using a Australian hop called Summer hops. AA5.6 they have a apricot and melon aroma.
Also using honey and was going to add to the boil at 15 min mark. I am not looking for a strong flavour so I thought adding it at this stage would be ok.

Thanks for any help.

Type: Extract
Batch Size: 19.60 l
Boil Size: 22.90 l
Boil Time: 60 min
End of Boil Vol: 20.90 l
Final Bottling Vol: 19.00 l
Fermentation: Ale, Two Stage

18.93 l Burton On Trent, UK Water 1 -
2.22 kg Caramel/Crystal Malt - 10L (19.7 EBC) Grain 2 39.6 %
0.11 kg Cara-Pils/Dextrine (3.9 EBC) Grain 3 2.0 %
0.95 kg Light Dry Extract [Boil for 60 min](15.8 EBC) Dry Extract 4 17.0 %
25.50 g Centennial [10.00 %] - Boil 60.0 min Hop 5 32.0 IBUs
1.43 kg Extra Light Dry Extract [Boil for 15 min](5.9 EBC) Dry Extract 6 25.5 %
0.50 kg Amber Dry Extract [Boil for 15 min](24.6 EBC) Dry Extract 7 8.9 %
0.26 tsp Irish Moss (Boil 10.0 mins) Fining 8 -
10.00 g Amarillo [9.20 %] - Boil 10.0 min Hop 9 4.2 IBUs
5.00 g Centennial [10.00 %] - Boil 5.0 min Hop 10 1.3 IBUs
10.00 g Amarillo [9.20 %] - Boil 2.0 min Hop 11 1.0 IBUs
10.00 g Amarillo [9.20 %] - Boil 0.0 min Hop 12 0.0 IBUs
2.0 pkg Burton Union Yeast (Mangrove Jack's #M79) Yeast 13 -
0.40 kg Honey (2.0 EBC) Sugar 14 7.1 %

Gravity, Alcohol Content and Color

Est Original Gravity: 1.063 SG
Est Final Gravity: 1.017 SG
Estimated Alcohol by Vol: 6.1 %
Bitterness: 47.6 IBUs
Est Color: 20.6

Total Grain Weight: 5.62kg