• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Advice on a light quaffing ale

roughage

Apprentice
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm new to Beersmith and a relatively new BIAB brewer. I'm wanting to make something really light and drinkable, as an alternative to the hop-heavy APA I currently have conditioning. I started with a Kolsch style, but due to budget constraints (liquid yeasts are hugely expensive in NZ!) I'll probably be using US-05.

The recipe I've come up with has the following (sorry about the metric!)
4.2KG Pilsner malt 89.4%
0.5KG Munich malt 10.6%
Single hop addition of 35gm Motueka (6.6%AA) as first wort hop for total of 27 IBU.
Yeast: US-05

Est Original Gravity: 1.046 SG
Est Final Gravity: 1.010 SG
Estimated Alcohol by Vol: 4.7 %
Bitterness: 27.0 IBUs
Est Color: 7.3 EBC

Fairly low temp single step mash as I want it quite dry.

Does this sound like it'll be tasty? I'm just concerned it'll come out very 'thin' and would appreciate any feedback.

Cheers.

I've been on a session ale kick lately, and I think my brews have been coming out quite good.

A general template for what I've been doing for a five gallon batch (5.5 actually, since I anticipate losing .5 gallons when I rack it) goes as follows (sorry about the non-metric):

7# base grain (pale, Munich, a mix, no pilsner - I find it makes an ale with a tinny flavor)

1# mixed crystal malt (regular crystal, special B, or whatever floats your boat)

Mash at 150-153F. Go tool low and it comes out watery (thin). Something this delicate needs a bit of body.

3-5 HBUs worth of hops for 60 minutes (HBU or Home Brewing Units are calculated unscientifically as follows - 1 oz 10%AA hops in a 5 gallon batch equals 10 HBUs, .5 oz 6%AA hops in a 5 gallon batch equals 3 HBUs, you get the picture, and if not google it)