• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Suddenly, most of my batches turned sour

Flashpanhunter

New Forum Member
Reaction score
Hello all,
This is my first time here, in this forum. I have an odd problem.
We (my partners and I) brewed all grain for quite a while, and most of the batches were not bad (some even were excellent IMHO). Couple of years a go we bought a huge stainless steel kettle (100 Litres) instead of our regular aluminium 30 litres and 85 litres picnic cooler for the mash. Since then things have started to go sour, literally. We used to cool down the wort by adding ice and cold water (as done with extract), and for some reason we never used a siphon, but a direct spill. With the former pot we never had a problem with that lack of sanitary, which now I understand that was almost a crime to the beer, but doing the same procedure with the new pot caused us troubles. We are using 75% Alcohol to sanitise our equipment, and recently learned that we should add water to reduce it to 45% in order to improve sanitation.
After few sour batches we tried to brew small batches with another 25 litres kettle (not aluminium but stainless steel) and all of those batches but the last were excellent. The last one had a disturbing issue: When we bottled the beer it tasted good, and the good taste remained for three or four weeks. And then it turned sour again.
On our last brew we used a siphon and a chiller, as well as silicone hose in order to move the wort from the fermentation barrel (30 litres polycarbonate barrel) to the pouring barrel, with the tap and the siphon.