• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Flip top sanitization

WyattFNEarp

Apprentice
Reaction score
So, got a bunch of 1 liter flip tops to make the bottling process easier. Cleaned them and was getting ready to remove the gaskets and put the bottles in the dishwasher on the sanitize setting. Problem is the gaskets appear to be glued on. wth? Anyway, should I go forward with sanitizing the bottles in the dishwasher with the gaskets on or switch to the trusty star san method instead?

I'm new to beer brewing but have made wine for about 2 years now and I'm not a fan of sanitizing in the dishwasher. I did I once and it left an ugly residue from the hardness of my water. I would just use a no rinse sanitizer

I've seen gaskets glued to the flip top and I suspect the "glue" is old beer.

I pull the gaskets off and clean them with oxiclean, rinse well, and sanitize with Star San. Same process for the bottles. I doubt you get enough soap and water through the top to actually clean the inside of the bottle.

While I'm sure that old beer may cause gaskets to stick to the the ceramic topper, this is not that. It is definitely glued. They are used and are from a specific brewery. I have one other one not from that brewery that is unlabeled an the gasket comes right off. To successfully remove these gaskets I will in effect destroy them. I already was able to clean the bottles by using the homemade oxi mixture; worked great. Only planned on using the sanitizing setting on the dishwasher to sanitize... not clean the bottles.

I did opt to sanitize with star san instead. My thought was that the heat from the sanitize setting could ruin the gaskets.

It seems I will need to look to replace either the bottles soon or the entire swing top.

WyattFNEarp said: