• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Fermentation Temp

WillouJ

New Forum Member
Reaction score
Hey Guys/Gals,

I started brewing about 8 months ago and have gone from kits and now beginning the adventure into all grain.  My goal is to brew great beer consistently and understand the brew process from beginning to end.  One thing that I've ran into when using BeerSmith 2 is the fermentation temperature guides.  I'm not equipped to maintain particular temp's at the front end of the fermentation cycle.  I've researched and as usual there are 1,000 ways to try and achieve desired temps.  On a scale of 1 to 10 just how important is it to maintain these temperatures?  There are so many other factors to consider when brewing beer (water ph, brew temps, time, and ingredient) where would one rank fermentation temp among all of these?  I have a kegerator not in use since I recently built a keezer and could easily add a controller to and place my fermenter inside, but would like some feedback before spending more money (wanna put my bucks where it counts most).

Thanks in advance!

I'd say ferm temp control is about as important as anything.  Of course this is a hobby so spend what you are comfortable with and not more... and I'd suggest putting control up pretty high on the list of priorities.  If not temp control, what would you spend your next bundle of brew cash on?

If you go with the STC-1000 build and have a freezer already, you could pull this one off pretty cheap.

+1  I agree with jtoots.  Fermentation temperature control improved my beer more than any other change that I made.  It made a bigger improvement than when I went from extract brewing to all grain brewing!

^^^This. Using RO water and understanding water additions is up there a ways too.

Mark