• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Need help with Equip Profile

BelligerentOwl

Apprentice
Reaction score
I'm a beginner extract brewer with a Brewers Best kit and have just loaded up BeerSmith2. I'm hoping someone can help with my Equipment Set-up - it's confusing me a bit.

A little background...
4 gallon pot
I typically start with 3 gallons of water for a boil and add a little over two gallons (call it 2.25) of top-off water into the primary fermenter to get to my 5 gallon batch target.
I bottle about 48 beers, so my loss is around 64oz in the fermenter/bottling volumes.

The additions and losses post boil is confusing me. I input Top Up Water at 2.25 gal. I threw .5 gal into the "Loss to Trub and Chiller", as I really don't know (is that about average?). When  I do this, it spits out a Boile volume of 3.67 and a Post Boil Vol of 3.38 gal. Since I know I started my boil with 3 gallons, how can that be? What am I missing?

I've attached some screenshots.

Thanks!
-Scott

Attachments

• Bottling and Batch Volumes.png
    Bottling and Batch Volumes.png
    148.5 KB · Views: 300
  • Equip Profile.png
    Equip Profile.png
    153.9 KB · Views: 300
Since you are doing extract recipes right now, I would recommend setting the loss to chiller and trub to zero.  Most often you will be pouring everything into the fermentor, correct?  Only if you leave some of the wort in the kettle with the trub should you worry too much about the loss to trub and chiller.

Next, if you normally start with 3 gallons (I am assuming measured cold) and then add 2.25 gallons to reach your 5 gallon batch size, your aim for water added when heated (which is what BeerSmith is giving you for a target) is 3 gal * 1.04 (thermal expansion) = 3.12 gal.