• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Ingredients

O

Otis26

I just purchased this product this evening.  I was disappointed with the selection of ingredients.

I am looking to make a recipe with Pilsner Dry Malt Extract and it's not one of the options.

I'm relatively new to brewing but one would think that by now you would have way more listed than a newbie could possibly need.

Not true.

Hi and welcome to the Forum,

BeerSmith has "Extra light dry malt extract " in the database as well as several other malt extracts listed. I have never heard of a Pilsner dry malt extract but I would think the specs would be similar to the "Extra light dry malt extract".

Cheers
Andrew

Thank you Andrew.

What would I use for a Light Liquid Malt Extract?  That is by far the most popular ingredient in every recipe I've tried...but I fail to find it on the extract list.

Briess lists a Pilsen DME on their website but they don't have a data sheet up for it.  I dropped them a note.

If you can point me toward a product that has a data sheet I'll be glad to help you enter it.  Or I can help you modify one to meet your specs.

Fred

"Pale liquid extract" and "Pilsner Liquid extract" is there as well. Liquid extracts have a small "can" symbol on the left hand side of the ingredients list to make them a little easier to find.

Cheers
Andrew

Thank you Fred...I don't have a data sheet on the Pilsner DME...I am in fact using the Briess DME you mentioned but I haven't seen any spec information myself.