• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Sessions, Importing Data

pleonber

Apprentice
Reaction score
Brad,

I'm fairly new to Beersmith so I'm still learning.  Here's a few things I think could be improved.

There appears to be a 1:1 relationship between a recipe and session.  I have a couple recipes i'll brew multiple times; it would be useful to be able to track those brew sessions without duplicating the recipe.

Additionally, for the way I brew at least, it would be nice to specify equipment and mash profiles in the session data .vs. the recipe.  However, I can see that being a major refactor of how BS works so I'm not sure that's a wonderful idea.

BS could be easily modified to make importing of equipment, mash profiles, etc...  a little easier.  Unless I'm missing something, I have to open a file then drag-n-drop it into the appropriate profile container.  If you could add a right-click "Import" option for each profile container that would be useful.

Why is BS distributed with a bunch of Add-Ons?  Why not have them all installed by default?  Maybe it should be installation option to install them all?

Thanks,
Pierce

BeerSmith has the functionality you are looking for.  You can maintain a file of your recipes and when ready to brew, highlight a recipe and click on 'copy to log' in the toolbar strip.  This will place an identical copy of the recipe into a new folder called 'brew log'.  You can then brew and maintain the recipe information and results separate from your master copy.