• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Scot-Irish dry stout help

C

cliffordsimmons

Hello all:

I am new to home brewing and I had a recipie idea and I wanted to get some of your ideas. First off I guess I should tell you what my idea is. You see my first brew as a scotch ale 'we heavy.' I used the following:

10 lbs pale malt extract
1 lbs crystal
1/4 chocolate
  heather tips
2 oz east kent goldings
Edinburgh ale yeast (white labs)

Now I want to make a Irish dry stout ala guiness and I had the idea of sort of combining the ideas and making a 'wee heavy' scot/irish stout. Here is what I think I should do so far....now this recipie comes from papazains book with modifications.

4 lbs hopped dark malt extract
6 lbs dark malt extract
1 lbs crystal
1/2 lbs roasted
1/2 lbs black patent
heather tips (added in last 15 minutes)
2 oz northern brewer (boiling)
3/4 oz fruggles (finishing)
Edinburgh ale yeast & irish ale yeast for a total of 2 white labs tubes

one other thing, I was thinking of wanting to add something to add a peaty smokey character to this, what do you think?

Cliff

If you want the smoked flavor, you might want to switch the Crystal to a Peat Smoked Malt. I think there is enough carmel's in the DME and it wont be missed. I would drop the hopped Malt Extract and just use 10# Dark Malt Extract and what ever hops you want with it. I prefer East Kent Goldings with Scottish Ale's. If you still have the yeast cake I would pitch this right on top of that. Just a thought.

My 2c.

Cheers

Preston

Cliff
  Here's an article on Irish Stout...from the blog
    http://www.beersmith.com/blog/2008/03/14/brewing-an-irish-stout-beer-recipe/

Brad

So I think I will go with this:

10 lbs dark malt extract
1 peat smoked malt
1/2 lbs roasted
1/2 lbs black patent