• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Chocolate Malt

El BrewCamino

Apprentice
Reaction score
I have been brewing for over 6 years now (all grain) but mostly just brewed recipes out of books and I've been starting to form my own recipes now with the help of the BS software.  I also have been listening to podcasts new and old from several sources and I have heard many times about how chocolate malt doesn't taste like chocolate and that it is more of a harsh burnt coffee flavor. I have always used chocolate malt because that is what the recipe calls for but now I have been making my own recipes I wasn't sure what a good alternative would be that might actually give a chocolate type flavor. I'm not looking for extreme chocolate flavor otherwise I would just add cocoa nibs.
Thanks for any help and sorry if I ramble or don't use good format this is only the second forum I've ever been on
🍻

Hi,

Chocolate malt or pale chocolate is what you want to use. Pale chocolate is lighter and is softer in taste so you may want to try that first. IN higher percentages, both pale and regular chocolate malt can be over-the-top roast flavored.

Mark

Welcome, El BrewCamino,

I agree with Mark.  The term 'chocolate' tends to denote color more so than flavor.  Chocolate malt offers subtle chocolate notes when added in small quantities.  Greater amounts leads to harsher roasted flavors. 

Pale chocolate malt, in my experience, tends to be more nutty with a slight roasted flavor. 

If you want intense chocolate, cocao nibs or cocao powder will give you a stronger chocolate flavor, especially when backed up with a bit of the pale chocolate malt and a touch of deeper roasted malts, especially the debittered varieties such as the Carafa Special malts from Weyermann.