• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

No ability to use DME/StirPlate for Dry Yeast?

apax

Apprentice
Reaction score
So, I'm just starting to learn BeerSmith.  Using trial.  I'm going through the various windows and options.

When I choose a recipe, I start it, and move on to yeast..... when I select a dry yeast, I don't have enough recommended cells for my batch.  But, unlike liquid yeast, I don't have any options to see DME / Stirplate to increase it.

If I only have a 5g package, why don't I have the data that liquid yeast has to increase the viable cell count?

Thanks!

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2018-08-20 at 4.17.56 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2018-08-20 at 4.17.56 PM.png
    158.8 KB · Views: 463
Many believe it's cheaper and more practical to just pitch multiple packets of dry yeasts. I assume this is why Brad just gives the number of packets. The Brewers Friend yeast tool allows you to calculate starters using dry yeast. I strongly recommend rehydrating prior to making a starter when using dry.

I have done this many times with good results. I plan on trying shaken not stirred vitality starters using rehydrated dry yeast in the near future and expect results very similar to those achieved using liquid yeasts.

I agree with BOB357.  I can buy packs of S-05 or S-04 for about $3 to $4 a pack (less when I buy multiple packs at once).  It cost me around $2 for a proper sized starter.  Add to that the work of sanitizing, boiling the starter wort, and time.