• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

mash in temp calculations

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to beersmith and have been experimenting with it. I brew 2.5 gallon batches. I use a converted cooler mash tun. What I question about the software is the mash water volume and temp suggestions. Im brewing an AG batch today with a little over 5 lbs of grain. beersmith suggests mashing in with 6.56 quarts of water at 168 deg F. I don't think that 1.5 gallons of 168 deg water will only drop to 154 (target mash temp) once I add 5 lbs of room temp grains. I think the temp will drop below ideal mash temps. I can't heat up a plastic mash tun like i could if I was doing BIAB. This is what i'm wondering about. Seems like the water and temp suggestions by the software are low.

If you have your equipment profile set to reflect the weight of your mash tun and the specific heat set to the type (plastic) of cooler, you should be fairly close.  Remember that you are not only bringing the temperature of the grains from room temperature up to target mash temperature, but also the mash tun.  You will want to make sure that the actual temperature of the grain and mash tun are reflected in your mash tab as you bring the water up to strike temperature.