• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Consistently Missing Estimated Final Gravity

avcaudill

Apprentice
Reaction score
Hello all,

I desperately need some guidance!!!

I had been brewing extract kits for 10 years.  About a year ago I switched to all grain.  Since changing to all grain, I have yet to hit my estimated F.G.  I consistently miss from .010-.020.  For example, my latest failure was supposed to end at 1.011, but I'm looking at 1.028.  I've been researching this problem for months in an attempt to remove all the possible causes.  Below is the laundry list:

1. I bought a refrigerator and built an STC to maintain proper fermentation temperature control.
2. I changed from dry yeast to liquid yeast and I make a starter using a stir plate.
3. Bought a refractometer and assured it was calibrated with distilled water.
4. Bought a pH meter and assured it was calibrated per manufacturer's specifications.
5. In my journey to learn the value of proper pH, I started adding minerals to my water.
6. I also got a water report from the Municipality.

Here is my latest grain bill for my 5.5-gallon recipe:

Untreated water pH is 8.2-8.5
Mash pH was 5.2.
8lbs - Maris Otter
1lb - Crystal Malt 10L
8oz - Flaked Oats
4oz - Melanoidin
Imperial yeast - Independence (Mfr. Dec 18)
Yeast Nutrient with 15 minutes left in the boil.
Mash in - 150F for 60 minutes
Mash out - 168 for 10 minutes
60-minute boil
Pre-boil gravity: 1.050
Original gravity: 1.054
Gravity as of 20 minutes ago: 1.028