• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

How to add my basic BIAB equipment set up

BoyNorman

Apprentice
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm very new to brewing and want to add my set up to Beersmith and then try out some recipes.
I have a basic BIAB set up of 12L stovetop stainless pot for mashing and boiling, and then 10 or 25L plastic tubs for fermentation. It was a BIAB starter kit purchased online.
I've tried to add this set up to the BeerSmith 3 app but there are a lot of options that don't seem relevant to me or i don't understand, Mash Tun for instance.
Any advice re what to put on there for my set up would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

When doing BIAB, your pot is your mash tun.  Mashall Schott posted a video guide specifically for setting up a biab equipment profile which can be found at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QmW7pwQP5mQ.

This should explain most of it for you.  If you have any other questions once following that walk-through feel free to post them here and we can see if we can talk you through it.

When it say weight of Mash Tun, is that the empty weight or full?