• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Water Adjustment Salts showing both mash and sparge?

HopMonkey

Apprentice
Reaction score
I am new to water chemistry and I am unsure of if I have setup something incorrectly in my profiles. My question is should it be adding both sparge and mash salts for a BIAB setup? I do see that the PPM on all of the sparge items is zero though so that is also adding to my confusion. Not sure if I just ignore sparge or combine it with mash or if I have something set incorrectly.

I have setup my local water profile after having it tested by Ward labs. I have added that and set it to match the correct target profile for the style of beer. It appears that it is adding the correct salts from the little bit I know so far. My equipment is setup for BIAB. Mash is set for the default BIAB, Full Body option.

Thanks for the help!

Rather than post screen shots, which are nice to look at but do not show us the application in the recipe, export your recipe as a .bsmx file by clicking on the recipe in the folder to highlight it, then select 'file' > 'export selected' and in the pop up screen change the save as type to .bsmx and give the file a name.  You can then upload it by attaching it to your post.  That will give us a chance to see how the profiles are set up and being used in the recipe.  It is easier to troubleshoot that way.

Attached is the .bsmx file for this recipe.

Attachments

• WaterSaltQuestions.bsmx
    26.9 KB · Views: 384