• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Using BeerSmith 3 on brew days

frito

Apprentice
Reaction score
Believe it or not, I've been using this software for a few years.  One of the things that I've never quite understood how to use it is on a brew day.  For awhile, I'd been saving my recipes to the cloud and then using the mobile app for the brewday timer and session data.  Great.  Ok.  So I record when things go into the fermenter and the gravity.  Make the beer, swell.  Come back a few months later and I want to make that beer again.  I open up the recipe, this is where I'm just confused.  How would I pull up the old notes and session data?  What if I couldn't get cascade hops and had to make a substitution or I wanted to try a different yeast.  Do I need to duplicate the recipe and note all that in the name??  If I update the ingredients in, say, Pale Ale, does it update the ingredients for the previous brew session too?  I'm just sooooooo very confused and I've always been confused with this.  Hoping to get an idea of how best to use this on a brew day and the next brew day and the one after that and every time I make this recipe.  thanks

Here is how I do it

On my PC, create a recipe in my Recipe folder, when I'm done and ready to brew, I copy it to the Cloud
This allows me to use the Recipe at the Beer store and then on brew day
On brew day I take my notes
When done, on my PC I MOVE the recipe to my Brew Log
I have never used Versioning in BS, the Brew date works just fine

A recipe is just that, what you intend to brew and you tweak it like you would any other recipe to suite your taste
What you brewed is what goes into the Brew Log and it should never be changed, b/c it represents what happened on Brew day for that one brew