• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

BeerSmith and the Anvil 10.5

DadFrack

Apprentice
Reaction score
I am new to BeerSmith and the Anvil 10.5. Looking to do my first all grain brew with the Anvil. I have found several stout recipes I want to try. My problem is when I use the scale button to change the original to the anvil. Most recipes show more grains than the anvil will take. The scale button changes values but is not getting the grain down to the 16lb or less the anvil will take. So, what am I doing wrong? I am using the standard equipment profile that comes with BeerSmith 3. Do I need to change settings? Am I not pushing the right button? Any help would be much appreciated.  THANKS

OK, let's get some details.

What is the OG of the original recipe you are scaling?  The total weight of the grain bill?  Batch size?  The brew house efficiency of the recipe (if listed)?

What is the brew house efficiency in your equipment profile? What is your target batch size?

Once we can see the numbers and figure out approximately how the recipe should scale, then we can see what might be driving the issue or if it is at all possible with the Anvil.

Would like to do a thin Mint stout found on Beer Smith. The OG on the recipe is 1.046. The weight of the grain is shown as 36.5lbs. The original batch size is 10 gal. The BH efficiency is shown as 72%. The equipment BH efficiency is set at 72%. I am looking to make a 5gal. batch. When I scale using the anvil 10.5 under equipment it reduces the grain from 36.5 to 19.15. According to Anvil the grain basket will only take 16lb of grain. This is my issue.  Again I am very new to this and appreciate you taking the time to help.