• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Cleaning off bottle labels...How do you do it?

tommiwommi

Master Brewer
Reaction score
When I started brewing, I was told that a bathtub full of hot water and bleach would help break labels off beer bottles that soak. I found this to work pretty well.
I was just wondering if anyone else had any "secret" methods that may they might want to share.

Tom

I use amonia and cold water. The labels fall right off after a night.  Then I put then in warm water and lightly scrub the residual glue off with a green scratchpad.  Lastly, a few seconds on the jet bottle washer.  If 1 in 50 still has a fuzzy inside, then the bottle brush, repeat washer.

Before bottling, I soak and airdry in Iodophor solution.

That is it. Never a problem.  After you have clean bottles, make sure to retain them in your "system"

1 more thing is to rinse and swirl after you pour your pint

SOGOAK wrote, "1 more thing is to rinse and swirl after you pour your pint"

I do the same but add one step.

I save a couple of gallons of my left over Star San throughout my brewing process.  After I drink my beer, I swirl water through the bottle.  I then soak it in the left over Star San, drain it dry for a day or so then store it.  Of course I will again sanitize it on bottling day when I next use that bottle.

I use OxyClean (yellow top not green top). Similar steps, with a side benefit, The bathtub gets a good cleaning also.  ;D

Fill tub with water, add OxyClean, add bottles, Wait overnight, use green scotch pad on any persistent labels then use the jet bottle washer to rinse out the inside. Before Bottling, I usually run the jet washer again, then run them through the dishwasher with no soap on the sanitize wash/heat dry mode.

Cheers
Preston