• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Larger then Mash Tun Warning

S

scud42

Hello,

I'm relatively new to brewing, but Beersmith has been a great tool to learn off of!  I love the product.  I did think of a suggestion today though. 

I have a 5 gallon mash tun.  Well my grain bill was I think 1 lb too large for my mash tun, and using the guidance from Beersmith, I started off with 4 gallons of strike water.  When adding the grains, I found myself filling my mash tun completely full, and I couldnt' get the lid on it.

I realized later on that if I clicked on my "Mash Profile Details" it said "Tun Volume Required: 5.08".  If I had seen that before, I would have set it up for a thicker mash.  However it was a little late afterwards.  I also noticed the Warning later on the brewsheet.  My suggestion is this....When the "Tun Volume Required" is larger then the mash tun in your equipment, the program should alert you on the recipe page (for example: in red bold font) in addition to the brewsheet, so when you're creating your recipes you know to change your mash density.

Just a thought. 

Keep up the great work!

I must agree.  I knew I'd seen that somewhere, and went hunting just today as I edited a Scotch Ale that I figured would be pushing my 10-gallon MLT. 

Big, flashing letters "I NEED MORE POTS, SCOTTY!!" would work.