• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

OK what's with my yeast?

G

Gunruner

I'm new to brewing and I've always put my fermenter in the appropriate temp and dark place.  Well this yeast in this batch goes dormant and shows no activity in a shadowed place but put it in a well lit place and the airlock starts bubbling every 20 seconds?  If I put it back in shadow or turn the light off it stops all activity in the airlock.  What gives?  Have I been doing wrong by using a shadowed and dark area to ferment?  I was going to bottle since all activity stopped 2 days ago and I turned the light on and got my stuff together to bottle.  Well the airlock started to really work.  I've tested this out and yep all activity stops when the lights go out and start up right away once the light comes on strong.  Ive used Nottingham yeast for my ales before and this is a Amber Ale and I used Safale us-05 yeast for the first time.  Is this yeast light sensitive?  It's been 9 days and this yeast is working hard right now but if I turn the light off, and watch, it stops all activity in the airlock(this is not moving or agitating anything).  Has this happened to you or am I wrong and need to put my fermenter in bright light?.................Mike

Gunruner said: