• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Brew Day Brew Sheet?

A

ArcticBrewer

Hello.

As most I am still new to the software but wondering once I create a recipe, and I am ready for brew day, is the expectation that I copy the recipe to the Scratch Pad or make a copy for that days brewing?  As we all know every brew session has its own "events" worthy of noting for the next batch or recording to go back in time to reproduce that particular batch.

Hope thats clear as mud.

Thanks!
Tim

Tim,
  You can do this, or some people just copy them to the brew log as needed.  Other people I know add a version number to each recipe's title.

You can use the Save As command on an open recipe to save it as another name.

VR
Brad

Here's how I keep my recipes and data organized. I set them up like a directory structure. Here is mine:

My Recipes
Brew Log
Downloader Recipes
All Grain
Extract
Partial Mash
Past Season Brew Log
08-09 Brews
Planning
All Grain
Luna Pier Beer
Pirate Point Beer
West Erie Basin Beer
Extract
Partial Mash
Sample Recipes

I create a recipe in one of the "Planning" folders depending on the type.
"All Grain" we keep our three basic beer lines separate. 
"Luna Pier Beer" is simple 10lb batches of our house beers.
"Pirate Point Beer" are our seasonal and stronger beers. Typically 12 lb brews.
"West Erie Basin" are specials, 12 to 16 lb beers.
"Extract"  Self explanitory
"Partial Mash" as above

When we are ready to brew a recipe, we "Duplicate" it and edit the name to include a batch number.
Example: The Duplicate of "Erie Beach Blonde Beer", would be renamed from "Copy of Erie Beach Blonde Beer" to "107 - Erie Beach Blonde Beer". We would then drag this into the "Brew Log Folder".