• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

First Sparging Brew Ended up with unfortunate taste

Hello all, My name is Elliott, and i am a newbie when it comes to brewing.

i started my first brew last wednesday, and the recipe is posted here
• 6-lbs dry light malt

• ½-lb carapils

• 1-lb Munich malt

• 1-lbs Vienna malt

• ½-lb crystal malt 60L

Hops
• 1 ½ -oz Chinook at 90-minutes (beginning of boil)

• 1-oz Willamette and ½ -oz Cascade at 20-minutes left

• ½ -oz Cascade at 2-minute left

Spices
• 1-tbsp Cinnamon and ½-tbsp Nutmeg at 90-minutes

• 1-tbsp Cinnamon and 1/1-tbsp Nutmeg at 20-minute

• 1-tbsp Cinnamon, 1-tbsp Nutmeg and 1tbsp crushed Coriander at 2-minute

• 1-tbsp Irish moss for clarifying

The problem i have is this:

i just put my brew into the secondary fermenter today, and of course i had to try it. unfortunately when i tried it, it didnt have the taste that i expected it to have. i expected it to have flavors of nutmeg and cinnamon very apparent, and they were actually non existant. instead, there was an overwhelming flavor of bitteness that replaced that flavor. i dont really know what i did wrong, because i really didnt expect this to end up very bitter. if anyone could give me some suggestions as to what i maybe did wrong, or maybe this should be a bitter brew, and i am just inexperienced in predicting the flavors that my brew should have. any suggestions would be awesome, and much appreciated.

Chinook is typically a very high alpha acid hop, meaning it yields a lot of the bittering compounds to beer when boiled longer than 45 minutes.  1.5 ounces of Chinook is a lot for all but the bigger IPAs (IMO).