• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Partial Mash Calculation Question

dst6

New Forum Member
Reaction score
  I am new to BeerSmith software. I usually do a partial mash. In the past my mash method has usually yielded an efficiency in the low 60's. I understand this is what I would enter in the brew house efficiency tab. But this number only applies to my mashed grains-usually about 5 lbs. Most of my fermentables  come from extract, which would of course be subject to a very high efficiency number. Does BeerSmith  automatically take this difference into account when it performs its calculations, or are there other steps I have to take to get proper calculations. Any info would be greatly appreciated.Thanks.

As long as you select Type as Partial Mash, you're good.

So how does Beersmith know which grains are mashed and which were only steeped?  Or does that not make any difference?

This batch I am making now is my first attempt at partial mash and only then because I found out I shouldn't steep my Munich Malt with my Chocolate and Caramalt Light Crystal malts.

All help is of course appreciated.

The grain profile for each grain has the data on whether a grain is "must mash" or not.  Generally, all crystals are steep only, b/c their starches were saccharified? in the kernals during malting process.  Whatever sugar they contribute need only be rinsed out:  mashing does nothing with crystals.