• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

2-part question... full boil vs. partial and using wood chips

The Drizzle

Apprentice
Reaction score
i'm relatively new to brewing and i do partial mash. just wondering if its more beneficial to do a full boil rather than a partial and what are the differences rather than the obvious liquid volume?.....2nd question - i have an IPA in the fermenter right now and the recipe calls for adding oak chips after the first week, never done that before. is there anything special i need to do to the wood chips before i add them? should i put them in a hop sock or just straight into the fermenter? i'm kind of afraid of the possibility of having tiny wood fibers in the beer during bottling. thanks for any help :)

Drizzle,
          I brew in a bag now so I don't do partials anymore but I think I barely boiled them. If I remember correctly you are just extracting flavors not creating sugars. Too vigorous boiling will drive them off? Not sure if I understood your question?

As to the second part of your question. I use oak chips that I buy from my local beer/wine shop. They are intended for wine but beer is fine too. I just dump in the chips in a secondary and forget them. I do shake them up a few times because, "wood floats"!  Before draining into a keg/bottling-bucket I leave them settle to keep sediment down.

just wondering if its more beneficial to do a full boil rather than a partial and what are the differences rather than the obvious liquid volume?