• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Estimated final gravity in BS2

cy2989

Apprentice
Reaction score
Hi,
While I've been playing with BS2 for a few months this is my first post on the forum.  My question is about how BS estimates final gravity.  I'm building a recipe that has a OG of 1.112 and BS is estimating a FG of 1.011.  That's an attenuation of > 90% and I'm pretty sure my yeast won't get there.  BS doesn't seem use the attenuation characteristics of the yeast I've selected (WL500) to make the estimate.  So how does it make this calculation?  It really throws the ABV off.  Thanks in advance for your help.

Chris Young

It does take into account yeast att. and mash temp.  I just created a couple of test recipes with 20 lbs of US pale malt in a 6gal batch for an OG of 1.102. 

WLP500 (80% Att)
  light-body, batch sparge  FG=1.015
  med-body, batch sparge  FG =1.019
  full-body, batch sparge    FG =1.024

WLP002 (70% Att)
  light-body, batch sparge  FG=1.025
  med-body, batch sparge  FG =1.030
  full-body, batch sparge    FG =1.035

If you look in the options page, on the advanced tab...you can see the options for controlling Fermentability vs Mash temp.

Remember that your FG will include the gravity lowering effects of the low-density alcohol.  You can add the apparent attenuation and real attenuation fields to the main recipe display, see the difference.    1.112 -> 1.011 is 89% apparent attenuation, but is only 73% REAL attenuation. 

Hi Tom and thank you for the reply.  I think I understand what you are saying and I added the RA field to my display (thanks for the tip).  So when the strain is listed at 75-80% attenuation, is it real attenuation they are talking about?  Thanks again for your help.

Chris Young

HI Chris-

Glad I could help.