• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

What can I do about astringent aftertaste with all-grain?

revbish

New Forum Member
Reaction score
I recently started brewing all-grain. For years I've brewed with extract and made some really good beers. Now, I've made half a dozen batches all-grain and every single batch has had a real astringent aftertaste, not related to hops. I'm using a large rectangular cooler with a bazooka screen, Brewsmith software, and usually a single infusion, no-sparge mashing technique. Every batch has gone very smoothly, hitting all my target temps and gravities spot on. I read and studied all-grain method a long time before actually attempting it, laying it out clearly in my mind what I was going to do, so I felt very comfortable when doing it. The bad aftertaste must be coming from the mashing process, but I really don't know where or what I could do to avoid this. Anybody have any ideas?

Hi, the first thing I'd look at is your grain crush.  Over crushing grain can cause astringency.  I have my mill gap set to .037 inches.

Next, make sure you don't over sparge, do not parge with boiling water and ensure water isn't overly alkaline.

Finally, oxidation during fermentation.

Mark

Crushing the grain too fine will cause stuck sparges, but you've been doing "no sparge" batches, so I'd look at your water ph, and doing a long enough boil. Other things that may be causing it is introducing oxygen into the wort while it's still too hot. Since you've been doing extracts brews for awhile I'm guessing it's one of those two things.

Mash pH, not water pH, is what matters. That would be my top suspect.

Myk said:
Mash pH, not water pH, is what matters. That would be my top suspect.