• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Help Understanding the Numbers

Humble Brewer

Master Brewer
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am a new Beersmith user.  I purchased it just as I was switching to all grain.  I have been doing extract brewing since 2001 and figured it was time to step up my game.  But honestly some of the calculations are kicking by rear.  Most of them reside around the idea of efficiency and the various stages of gravity reading. 

When I import a recipe it comes with grain and water amounts.  I brew using those amounts and my gravities never line up.  In addition, Beersmith seems to already have an efficiency associated with the recipe and I can't seem to get it to change when I put in my numbers.  Assuming I put them in the right spot.

When I try and build a recipe from scratch and manually add the grains and adjuncts Beersmith still seems to autopopulate most numbers for me.  Further convincing me I am making some form of mistake when my numbers don't line up.

I have tried three or four runs through the system so far and using a tip I found elsewhere on this site to display actual efficiency every one of the recipes has a different efficiency number.  I would think that somehow my system would settle within a margin of error that I would recognize as where my gear operates.  I have some recipes coming in super low (40's and 50's) and some coming up in the higher end (70's).  I seem to be all over the spectrum.

Help!