• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Hey all from central California!

puddlethumper

Apprentice
Reaction score
Hi there everyone!  I've been brewing for about 6 months and have managed to produce some really nice batches of beer.  Unfortunately, I've also come up short on several batches due to a "bug".  Really tightened my jaws over tossing that beer down the drain, but managed  to learn a lot in the process.  Now I'm at the point of getting really serious and a little pissed off about the failures.  I have a batch of Nut Brown Ale in the primary right now that is doing really good.  I'm hoping this forum will get me connected with experienced brewers who can help me move past this period of struggling to turn out the great beers I was producing a few months ago.

Are you kegging, or bottling? I can guarantee your problem has to do with sanitation issues. Keep in mind that you don't have to worry about that stuff until AFTER the boil. Then you need to make sure everything that touches your beer has been dipped in sanitizer ... including thermometers or any other kind of device you use to draw samples for gravity readings. I might be stating the obvious, so please forgive me. You also need to make sure your tubing and carboy have all been sanitized prior to the transfer process from your kettle. This would also include the stopper and airlock. I was doing all this, but I never bothered to sanitize the bottle tree before rinsing and sanitizing my bottles. Don't forget to also sanitize your bottle caps and bottle capping device. Starsan will become your best friend. Hope this helps.

Best of luck with your issue and i agree with MikeinRH that starsan (and/or Iodiphore) will become your new best friend. Enjoy your new addiction.